Ubuntu World Wide Immigration Consulting

Rural Community Immigration Pilot · Northeast British Columbia

RCIP Peace Liard 2026: intake status, priority sectors and occupations

What the Peace Liard Rural Community Immigration Pilot actually requires right now, taken from Community Futures Peace Liard and re-checked every month. Most guides to this programme are months out of date.

Next intake scheduled · verified 12 October 2026

A second 2026 intake opens on Tuesday 13 October at 12 noon and closes Tuesday 20 October at 12 noon.

The community has announced that IRCC granted it an additional 25 allocations for 2026. The second intake is open only to designated employers that have not yet received a recommendation in 2026. The announcement does not state a time zone, the new total allocation, or how many allocations have been used. The first window opened on 1 April and 56 of the original 60 allocations were spent by June. The June update also mentioned one final Selection Committee meeting for discretionary candidates only at the end of August; no result has been posted. Nothing has been announced for 2027.

At a glance

Administered byCommunity Futures Peace Liard
RegionNortheast British Columbia
Next intake13-20 October 2026, 12 noon to 12 noon (time zone not stated)
Priority sectors6
Priority occupations25
How candidates are selectedPoints-ranked pool, new for 2026. Minimum 50 points overall and at least 10 in each of five factors. Decisions are final with no appeal.
Who submits the applicationThe designated employer, not the candidate

Priority sectors for 2026

  • Business, Finance and Administration
  • Health
  • Education, Law and Social, Community and Government Services
  • Sales and Service
  • Trades and Transport
  • Natural Resources and Agriculture
Changes this year. Retail Sales Supervisor (62010) hit its IRCC cap on 29 May and no further recommendations were issued for it. Discretionary occupations were ruled out entirely for the Sales and Service and Business, Finance and Administration sectors in March, because those sectors score below the 10-point minimum on the job offer factor.

The occupation list, and its traps

Peace Liard publishes 25 priority occupations. Being on that list is necessary but not sufficient, and the detail below is where most self-prepared applications come apart.

Peace Liard reserves up to 20 per cent of recommendations for discretionary occupations outside the 25, aimed at highly specialised or infrastructure-critical roles such as doctors, water treatment operators and civil engineers. At least 80 per cent must go to the listed occupations.

The full list, with the codes and any wage requirements, is published by the community: see the official occupation list. We do not reproduce it here, because it changes mid-year and a stale copy is worse than no copy.

Caps and limits

  • 2026 allocation: 60 recommendations, plus 25 additional allocations granted by IRCC (new total not published)
  • Second intake limited to designated employers with no recommendation yet in 2026
  • One recommendation application per designated employer to start
  • Four capped occupations at 5 per cent each, 20 per cent combined
  • Minimum 80 per cent to listed occupations, up to 20 per cent discretionary

Who cannot use this programme

  • Consulates and staffing agencies
  • Businesses owned by an immigration representative
  • Businesses owned or controlled by the applicant or their spouse
  • Discretionary occupations in Sales and Service or Business and Finance
  • Seasonal, part-time or fixed-term positions

What the numbers actually show

2026 allocation60
Issued by 25 June56, leaving 4
2025 comparison80 recommendations issued
Designated employers280 as at April 2026

Intake windows in 2026

  • Single candidate window from 1 April
  • Second intake 13-20 Oct, 12 noon to 12 noon

Processing

No processing time is published. Recommendation certificates are valid six months. The community does not give individual application status updates.

Worth knowing

Peace Liard is the hardest community to plan around: it ran one window all year, stayed silent from late June, and has now announced a short second intake on 13 to 20 October. The 2026 allocation of 60 is down from 80 issued in 2025. Graduates of Northern Lights College qualify for a work-experience exemption. The catchment is vast, covering the Peace River Regional District and the Northern Rockies Regional Municipality.

Official sources

Everything above is taken from the community's own pages, not from secondary reporting:

Is this route realistic for you?

Thirty minutes with a Regulated Canadian Immigration Consultant, licence RCIC-IRB R731653. We will tell you whether Peace Liard is worth pursuing, and say so plainly when it is not.

Book a consultation

Verified against Community Futures Peace Liard on 12 October 2026 by Mary Unogwu Ogenyi-Igoche, RCIC-IRB R731653. We re-check monthly. This page is general information about a government programme and is not legal advice on your own situation.

Scroll to Top